Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May, 2011

Ruins of the old cathedral

 

In November of 1940, the 12th Century Coventry Cathedral was destroyed by German bombs. Rather than respond in hate, the Provost at the time, Richard Howard, encouraged his congregation to respond with faith, hope, and love. A new cross was formed out of charred timbers that had fallen.  A second cross was made from nails found on the site of the ruins, and was hung on the wall.  Construction was begun immediately on the new cathedral.

The decision to forgive and to seek reconciliation led to the foundation of The Community of the Cross of Nails, which now pursues a ministry of peace and reconciliation in troubled areas of the world.

A Litany of Forgiveness is recited every weekday at the Cathedral. It goes as follows:

All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.

The hatred which divides nation from nation, race from race, class from class,
Father Forgive.

The covetous desires of people and nations to possess what is not their own,

Father Forgive.

The greed which exploits the work of human hands and lays waste the earth,
Father Forgive.

Our envy of the welfare and happiness of others,

Father Forgive.

Our indifference to the plight of the imprisoned, the homeless, the refugee,

Father Forgive.

The lust which dishonours the bodies of men, women and children,

Father Forgive.

The pride which leads us to trust in ourselves and not in God,
Father Forgive.

Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »